Defenses to Buying Alcohol for a Minor in Florida
Contributing to the delinquency of a minor in Florida (CDM) is a very serious charge that comes with very serious consequences, especially if your contribution is in the way of alcohol. Buying alcohol for a minor is not only illegal, but it comes with a unique set of risks. For instance, if the minor were to get caught with the alcohol, they can and will more than likely “rat you out,” so to speak. In this instance, you would be charged with both a CDM and buying alcohol for a minor.
However, if you were to buy alcohol for a minor and they were to cause a car accident, which resulted in the death of the minor or another individual, you may not only be charged with a CDM and buying alcohol for a minor, but you may also be charged with involuntary manslaughter.
Buying alcohol for a minor is a slippery slope, one on which you do not want to find yourself. However, if you have already committed a CDM, contact the criminal defense attorneys at The Baez Law Firm right away to learn more about what options you have regarding a defense.
Buying Alcohol for a Minor in Florida Violates Two Separate Laws
Under Florida Statute 561.11, any person who sells, gives, or serves alcohol to an individual who is younger than 21, or any person who permits the serving of alcohol to an individual who is under the age of 21, is guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable by up to 60 days in jail, up to $500 in fines, or both.
Under Florida Statute 827.04, any person who commits an act that causes, tends to cause, encourages or contributes to the delinquency of a minor is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree, and is punishable by up to one year in jail (775.082), up to $1,000 in fines (775.083), or both.
Defenses to CDM Charges
If you are charged with contributing to a minor in Florida, the criminal defense attorneys at The Baez Law Firm can help you build an aggressive defense in order to clear your name of the charges and avoid the severe consequences that come with a conviction on one or both counts. Some defenses that we can utilize include:
- Claiming false accusations;
- Claiming mistaken age;
- Claiming lack of knowledge of the minor’s delinquent conduct; or
- Claiming that the minor’s parents gave them consent.
While Florida does not recognize parental consent as a valid reason for a minor to be in possession of or to consume alcohol, if it can be proved that their consent led you to mistakenly believe that the minor was not in fact a minor, then you might have a case.
Retain the Help of a Miami Criminal Defense Attorney
At The Baez Law Firm, our criminal defense attorneys understand that mistakes happen, and that your contribution to the delinquency of a minor may have been a simple case of mistaken age. If you have been charged with buying alcohol for a minor in Florida, contact our criminal defense law firm right away. We can help you build a solid defense to fight the charges, and ensure that you are not punished for a mistake you unwittingly made. Reach out to our criminal defense team right away at 305-999-5100.