Can You Be Arrested For Speeding In Florida?
Speeding is one of the most common traffic violations in the United States. According to data from AAA, nearly 90 percent of U.S. motorists admit that they have knowingly driven above the speed limit at least once during the past twelve months. The penalties for speeding depend on a number of different factors, including the amount by which the driver exceeded the posted speed limit.
You may be wondering: Is speeding a criminal offense? In Florida, the answer is generally “no”—but there are some important exceptions. Drivers need to know their rights and responsibilities. In this article, our Orlando traffic offense defense lawyer explains the key things you need to understand about criminal charges for speeding in Florida.
An Overview oF Florida Law on Speeding
Speeding is a moving violation. In the vast majority of cases, the penalties are a fine and points on a driver’s license. Under Florida Statutes § 318.18, the fine for speeding is largely determined by specific violation. Here is an overview based on the amount in excess of the speed limit:
- 1-5 MPH: A warning
- 6-9 MPH: $25
- 10-14 MPH: $100
- 15-19 MPH: $150
- 20-29 MPH: $175
- 30 MPH or More: $250
Florida takes speeding especially seriously if the driver is going in excess of 50 miles per hour over the posted speed limit. The mandatory fine for a driver going more than 50 MPH above the speed limit is $1,000. For a second offense, the fine is $2,500 with a mandatory one year license suspension. A third offense for extreme speeding can be charged as a third degree felony in Florida on its own, even without a corresponding reckless driving charge.
Speeding Could Lead to a Criminal Reckless Driving Charge in Florida
With extreme speeding, the primary criminal liability risk is a reckless driving charge under Florida Statutes § 316.192, reckless driving is defined as operating a vehicle with a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others. This can include excessive speed, erratic driving, or ignoring traffic signals and signs. Reckless driving is a criminal offense in Florida and is punishable by fines, imprisonment, or both. In some cases, a reckless driving conviction can also result in a license suspension or revocation. A first-time reckless driving conviction can lead to up to 90 days in prison, even if there was no crash. Reckless driving that results in a serious bodily injury is a third degree felony offense carrying up to five years in state prison.
Get Help From a Florida Criminal Speeding Defense Attorney Today
At The Baez Law Firm, our Florida traffic offense defense lawyer has the skills, experience, and legal expertise to defend the full range of speeding charges. If you or your loved one was arrested for speeding, we are here as a legal resource. Contact us today to set up your completely confidential initial consultation. With a law office in Orlando and a law office in Miami, we are well-positioned to defend speeding charges throughout Central Florida and South Florida.