Do Florida’s Sex Offender Laws Go Too Far?
According to research reports recently released by the Florida Legislature, the number of sexual offenders and predators in Florida is on the rise. Specifically, according to the Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability, just since 2005, the number of offenders has gone up by 53 percent.
However, looks can be deceiving when it comes to reports like these: When you read between the lines, you see that Florida could very well be experiencing this increase due to the fact that there have been a number of new sex offenders laws passed in the state over the last few years.
Florida Sex Offender Registration Laws
It’s no secret that Florida has some of the most restrictive sex offender sentencing and registration laws in the country. The law defines “sexual predators” describe those who have been convicted of a capital, life, or first degree felony sex crime or two or more second-degree felony sex crimes. In addition, within 48 hours after registration is required, any sexual predator who is not incarcerated and resides in the community must register with the department of motor vehicles, and any sexual predator that vacates a residence and fails to establish another within 48 hours must report to the sheriff’s office.
A sexual predator also has to register through the sheriff’s office by providing a significant amount of information about themselves, including name, social security number, race, age, date of birth, sex, weight, height, any identifying marks (such as tattoos), eye color, hair color, a photograph, any and all addresses (including temporary and legal), internet identifiers (including web pages), telephone numbers, employment information, all vehicle identification information, fingerprints, palm prints, and other relevant information, such as information related to their crime(s) and any relevant immigration status.
In addition, registration and community and public notification requirements are extensive. Anyone convicted of any of the following crimes has to be registered for life:
- Computer pornography;
- False imprisonment;
- Lewd or lascivious offenses committed in the presence of a minor (under 16), a disabled individual, or an elderly individual;
- Luring or enticing a child;
- Procuring prostitution from someone under the age of 18;
- Selling or buying minors (into prostitution, sex trafficking, etc.);
- Sexual battery or performance by a minor;
- Sexual misconduct;
- Transmission of material harmful to minors by electronic device or equipment, including pornography; and/or
- Unlawful sexual activity with a minor.
Contact Our Florida Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys to Find Out More
There are few more serious charges in Florida than sex crimes. Being convicted once, even if you are only 18 years old, can force you to carry a label around for the rest of your life—a label that effectively marks you as a “permanent sex offender.”
If you are potentially facing these charges, contact our experienced Orlando sex crimes defense attorneys at the Baez Law Firm today to find out how we can help.